Visit our Mobile Site


Mississippi County Treasurer

Peggy Meatte

County treasurer Peggy Lawrence Meatte


The county treasurer is the disbursement officer of the county. The treasurer is responsible for the custody and disbursement of all county funds and school district funds. The treasurer, therefore, receives county property tax collections, county sales tax collections, county turnback funds, grant funds, fees, and fines from other county officials and departments and revenues from various other sources. After receiving this revenue, the Treasurer distributes the money to the various taxing entities and the other units of the county.

The county treasurer signs checks, prepared by financial management, indicating that the expenditure has been authorized by the county court, to pay employees and creditors of the county. The treasurer is also investment office for the county. The law requires the county treasurer to make timely investments of public funds in order to earn optimum interest.

Peggy Lawrence Meatte, serves as County Treasurer of Mississippi County and has since 2011. She has worked in the Treasurer's office since 2003.



Candice Nichols - Chief Deputy Treasurer

Chief Deputy Treasurer Candice Nichols


County Treasurer's Office

(To send an email, click name)

Accounts Payable & Inventory - Leslie Lawrence


Finance Management - Kelli Jones

Finance Manager Kelli Jones


Payroll & Insurance - Beverly Beale


For information regarding county financials, click here: Financials


Office Hours: Monday - Friday (9:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.)



200 West Walnut, Room 207

Blytheville, AR 72315

Phone: (870) 762-2152

Fax: (870) 762-4503