Visit our Mobile Site
Quorum Court


The Justice of the Peace is an elected official in county government. Mississippi County has 11 Justices of the Peace which forms the Mississippi County Quorum Court.

The Quorum Court is the Legislative body of county government. These officers representing 11 districts within the county meet to conduct county business and review ordinances and resolutions for passage. The county judge is the presiding officer over the Quorum Court without a vote, but with the power of veto. This veto can be overridden with a 3/5 vote of the total membership of the Quorum Court.


The Quorum Court may exercise the following powers, but are not limited to:

  • levying of taxes in a manner as prescribed by law
  • appropriating public funds for the expenses of the county in a manner as prescribed by ordinances
  • establishing the number and compensation of elected officials and county employees
  • providing for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs
  • to exercise any other powers necessary for the effective administration of authorized services and functions


District 1 Fred Fleeman
District 2 Michael White
District 3 Neil Burge
District 4 Bill Nelson
District 5 Molly Jackson
District 6 Alvin Clay
District 7 Jo Ann Henton
District 8 Rick Ash
District 9 Sylvester Belcher
District 10 Betty Hepler
District 11 Howard Norvell


Quorum Court Recordings