Visit our Mobile Site

Local Candidates File


Filing for elected offices began Monday in Mississippi County and statewide.

On Monday, Sen. Dave Wallace (R-Leachville), Rep. Monte Hodges (D-Blytheville) and Rep. Johnny Rye (R-Trumann) all filed for re-election in their respective offices.

Blytheville School Board member Barbara Wells filed for re-election for Zone 3.

The only other Blytheville School Board position that will be on the ballot is currently held by Erin Carrington.

Meanwhile, on Monday in Osceola, Dr. Reggie Cullom filed for Justice of the Peace in District 11; Sumner Cullom for Constable of Carson Lake Township; and Dennis E. Tucker, Sr. for Constable of Scott Township.

The filing deadline for Mississippi County candidates seeking office of JP, constable or school board is noon Tuesday, Nov. 12.

JPs and constable races are partisan, so those wishing to file as a Republican may do so Thursday, Nov. 7, from 4:30-6:30 p.m. at the Bush Thornton Building, 1594 South Division, Blytheville.

Those wishing to file as Democrat may do so through noon, Tuesday, Nov. 12, at the office of Joe Harris Trucking, 604 South Walnut, Osceola.